Job Search / What I have Learned by Helping Others Find Jobs

Reblogging many thanks.

Job Market Monitor

Last fall I relocated to Minneapolis, Minnesota after living and working in Kampala, Uganda for a year and a half. I was a librarian at a small college and, as a solo librarian, spent my time doing a little bit of everything: cataloging, reference, networking, instruction. I gained lots of great library experience and a whole blog full of good stories (alibrarystory.blogspot.com). And, of course, I made wonderful friends.

But now I find myself back in the US and figuring out the next steps of my professional career. And, like many un- and under-employed librarians, I spend a bit of my time each week volunteering. We’ve all heard the job search tip: ‘Volunteer to get experience’. And, I see the value in doing that. But instead of only volunteering with libraries or library-related organizations, I’ve chosen to spend time each week at a local non-profit that helps recently arrived African…

View original post 219 more words

Leave a Reply

